Local News

Local Municipal Results

Ontario voters in more than 400 communities have decided who will run their cities, towns, townships and regions for the next four years.
The new council for the Township of Wellington North will be the same as the last council as Andy Lennox wins the Mayor’s seat handily over opponent Ray Tout.  All of the councillor positions were acclaimed.
In the Municipality of West Grey, Township of Southgate and the Town of Hanover, and other sites using the online voting system, voting was suspended for a time yesterday and have now been extended to 8 PM Today (23rd)
Wellington County Council Ward 3 will have a new representative as Campbell Cork defeats incumbent Gary Williamson. With 6 candidates for Ward 4 is was a tight race with Stephan O’Neil coming out on top.
While the Councillor’s were all acclaimed in the Township of Mapleton, they have a new mayor. Gregg Davidson takes over that role as incumbent Neil Driscoll is defeated.
In Minto, it was a very close race for mayor., resulting in George Bridge retaining that seat but the council will look a little different. Incumbents Jean Anderson, Judy Dirkson and Ron Elliott welcome new councillors Geoff Gunson and Mark R MacKenzie to chambers.
In the three way race for School Board Trustee Harriston’s Robin Ross narrowly beat out Shawn McLeod of Mount Forest.
Residents in 51 Ontario municipalities were forced to extend voting last night, due to widespread technical difficulties in yesterday’s elections.